You are here

Feed aggregator

Lunar Time Lapse Panorama including Yutu Rover

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 02/04/2014 - 7:12am

Where has the Yutu rover been on the Moon?


Mars and Orion over Monument Valley

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 02/03/2014 - 12:28pm

Welcome to


NGC 6188 and NGC 6164

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 02/02/2014 - 6:08pm

NGC 6188 and NGC 6164


Light Pillars from a Little Planet

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 02/01/2014 - 5:50am

Eerie pillars of light ring the edges of this snowy little planet.


Rocket Streak and Star Trails

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 01/31/2014 - 11:32am

Fixed to a tripod and looking east across the Kennedy Space


Jelly Donut Shaped Rock Appears on Mars

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 01/30/2014 - 5:04pm

What if a rock that looked like a jelly donut suddenly appeared on Mars?


Spiral Galaxy M83: The Southern Pinwheel

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 01/29/2014 - 3:20am

Spiral Galaxy M83: The Southern Pinwheel


From the Northern to the Southern Cross

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 01/28/2014 - 8:51am

There is a road that connects the


Sunspot Loops in Ultraviolet

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 01/27/2014 - 2:40pm

It was a quiet day on the


Opportunity s Decade on Mars

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 01/26/2014 - 1:22am

On January 25 (UT) 2004, the Opportunity rover fell to Mars, making


Bright Supernova in M82

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 01/25/2014 - 6:38am

Astronomers really don't find supernovae by looking for the arrows.


Double Cluster in Perseus

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 01/24/2014 - 12:06pm

Double Cluster in Perseus


The Upper Michigan Blizzard of 1938

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 01/23/2014 - 5:20pm

Yes, but can your blizzard do this?


Micro Moon over Super Moon

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Wed, 01/22/2014 - 3:51am

Did you see the big, bright, beautiful Full Moon last Wednesday night?


Baryon Acoustic Oscillations from SDSS III

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Tue, 01/21/2014 - 9:40am

How large do things appear when far away?


Spiral Galaxies in Collision

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Mon, 01/20/2014 - 3:30pm

Billions of years from now, only one of these two galaxies will remain.


Apogee Full Moon

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sun, 01/19/2014 - 2:33am

This big, bright, beautiful Full Moon rose over


M83 Star Streams

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Sat, 01/18/2014 - 7:59am

Big, bright, and beautiful,


Despina, Moon of Neptune

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Fri, 01/17/2014 - 12:54pm

Despina is a tiny moon


Spitzer's Orion

Astronomy Picture of the Day - Thu, 01/16/2014 - 6:11pm

Few cosmic vistas excite the imagination like


Pages

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer